NewsBayelsa Assembly Polls: APGA Claims Two Seats As PDP Maintains Lead

Bayelsa Assembly Polls: APGA Claims Two Seats As PDP Maintains Lead


March 19, (THEWILL) – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Oteigbanyo George-Braah of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) as the winner of the Nembe Constituency 1 seat in the Bayelsa State House of Assembly.

Declaring the results at the King Koko Square collation centre in Ognolomabiri, the INEC Returning Officer, Mr Okechukwu Okeke, said George-Braah polled 2,928 votes to emerge the winner.

Giving a further rundown of the figures of the result, Okeke announced that Hon. Ebi Ben-Ololo of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who is running for a third term in office, polled 2,356 votes, while Kenneth Standfast of the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 485 votes.

Also, in Yenagoa Constituency 2, an area considered to be a stronghold of the PDP, Waikumo Amakoromo of the APGA polled 4,971 votes to defeat his major opponent, Hon. Ebiuwou Koku-Obiyai of the PDP, an incumbent lawmaker, who has served for two tenures already.

Our Correspondent reports that some of the results released so far had the PDP leading, suggesting that the next Assembly will be dominated by the party.

Among the results was Brass Constituency 1, where Hon Charles Daniel was declared the winner by the Returning Officer, Dr Mbosowo Etekudo, having polled 4,116. While at Ekeremor Constituency 2, Mitin Living Ebibaekebena of the PDP polled 2,800 and was declared the winner by the Returning Officer, Mr Smart Tunubu.

Similarly, Edward Irigha Brigidi of the Peoples Democratic Party, having scored 1,651 votes, was declared the winner by Dr. John Chika Onwuchekwa, just as Hon Douglas Samson of the PDP, who scored 1,367, was declared the winner of Nembe Constituency 3, by the Returning Officer, Prof Apuega Arikawei. The incumbent Speaker of BYHA, Rt Hon Ingobere Abraham of the PDP was declared winner of Brass Constituency 3 by the Returning Officer, Prof Comfort Mbachu having polled 5,780 votes.

Others include Yenagoa Constituency 3, where a second-term seeker, Hon Elemeforo Teddy Tonbara of the ruling PDP, who polled 4,206 was declared the winner by the Returning Officer, Dr Onwuka James. Sagbama Constituency 3 has Cockeve Ebizi Rosemary Brown declared the winner by Prof Diri T. Tailanyo, having scored 6,462 and the result of Ekeremor Constituency 1 has Porri Tare of the PDP declared the winner by the Returning Officer, Bernard Perekefa, after scoring 4,216.

Website | + posts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More like this

Davido Pens Emotional Note To Wife, Fans As He Releases Album

March 31, (THEWILL) – David Adeleke, aka Davido,...

Spurs Considering Kompany For Managerial Role As Club Seeks Successor To Conte

March 31, (THEWILL) – Vincent Kompany, the current...

NFF To Reevaluate Coach Appointment Approach Following Poor National Team Performances

March 31, (THEWILL) – The Nigeria Football Federation...