SportsArgentina, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay Submit Joint Bid For 2030 World Cup

Argentina, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay Submit Joint Bid For 2030 World Cup

  Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads

February 07, (THEWILL) – Argentina, Chile, Paraguay, and Uruguay have officially submitted a joint bid to host the 2030 World Cup.

The South American nations aim to bring the tournament back to where “football was born” 100 years after the first World Cup was held in Montevideo, Uruguay.

Alejandro Dominguez, the President of the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL), said: “The 2030 World Cup is not just another World Cup, it deserves a celebration with recognition for 100 years. We are convinced that FIFA has an obligation to honor the memory of those who came before us and believed in greatness and made the first World Cup.”


The Argentine FA President Claudio Tapia also expressed his support for the bid, saying: “As world champions, we carry out this launch which is the dream of all South Americans. Not only on the centenary of the first edition, but because of the passion with which we live football.”

Uruguay won the first World Cup as hosts in 1930, while Argentina hosted the event in 1978 and Chile in 1962. The South American nations will compete with a joint bid from Spain and Portugal and possible bids from Morocco and Saudi Arabia. FIFA will announce the winning bid and host of the 2030 World Cup next year.

Website | + posts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More like this

No Secret Meeting Between Tinubu, CJN In London – APC Campaign Council

March 24, (THEWILL) – The Presidential Campaign Council...

FG, States, LGs Share N722.677bn February Revenue

March 24, (THEWILL) – The Federation Account Allocation...

Messi Registers New Achievement With 800th Career Goal Milestone

March 24, (THEWILL) – Lionel Messi has written...