NewsAkwa Ibom, Cross River Get New RECs As INEC Redeploys Eight Directorate...

Akwa Ibom, Cross River Get New RECs As INEC Redeploys Eight Directorate Staff

August 17, (THEWILL) – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has appointed Cyril Omorogbe and Alalibo Sinikiem, as Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for Akwa Ibom and Cross River states respectively.

Festus Okoye, National commissioner and chairman of the Commission’s Information and Voter Education Committee, disclosed this in a statement on Tuesday.

Before the new posting, Omorogbe was REC for Cross River State, while Sinikiem was REC for Edo State.

Omorogbe replaces retired Mike Igini, former REC of Akwa Ibom, while Sinikiem will now take over in Cross River State.

In the same vein, INEC announced the redeployment of eight directors.

The statement said, “The public may recall that on 24th March, 2022, the Commission redeployed 385 staff nationwide. On that occasion, the Commission announced that this will be a routine exercise, which will continue from time to time.

“In line with the extant policy, the Commission hereby redeploys two Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) and eight directorate staff.”

The redeployed directors include Chidi Nwafor, Chima Duruaku, Jude Okwuanu, Usman Musa Wase, Salisu Garba, Waziri Zanna, Godwin Wada Edibo and Paul Omokore.

Paul Omokore, hitherto Director, Planning and Monitoring Department, headquarters, is now Director ICT, headquarters.

Chidi Nwafor, Director ICT, headquarters is now redeployed to Enugu as Administrative Secretary.

Chima Duruaku, Administrative Secretary, Anambra is now the Director, Planning and Monitoring Department, headquarters.

Jude Okwuanu, hitherto Administrative Secretary, Enugu is now Administrative Secretary, Anambra.

Usman Musa Wase, hitherto Acting Director, Human Resource Management, headquarters now becomes the Acting Administrative Secretary, Nasarawa State.

Salisu Garba, Director, in the Electoral Operations department, now takes over as Director Procurement, headquarters.

Waziri Zanna, Acting Administrative Secretary, FCT is now redeployed as Acting Director, Human Resource Management, headquarters.

Godwin Wada Edibo, Acting Administrative Secretary is now Acting Administrative Secretary, FCT.

While all the postings are with immediate effect, Okoye added that “Handing and taking over should be concluded on/or before Friday, 26th August, 2022.”



More like this

Portuguese Underdog Borges Stuns Nadal To Win First ATP Title

July 21, (THEWILL) - Rafael Nadal suffered a...

UPDATED: US President Joe Biden Drops Reelection Bid

July 21, (THEWILL) - President Joe Biden, the...

Oru West Chairmanship: Okolieogwo Picks Forms, Pledges More Development, Empowerment

July 21, (THEWILL) - Ahead of the September...