NewsSix Labour Party Enugu Assembly Members Defect To PDP

Six Labour Party Enugu Assembly Members Defect To PDP


March 28, (THEWILL)- About six members of the Labour Party (LP), in the Enugu State House of Assembly, have defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The lawmakers announced their defection in a letter read on Thursday, at Plenary by House Speaker,Uche Ugwu.

The lawmakers include; Ejike Nwa Nsukka, (Igbo-Eze North 1); Johnson Ugwu (Enugu North); Ms Princess Ugwu (Enugu South Rural); Pius Onyeka Ezugwu (Nsukka West); Williams T. Amuka (Igbo-Etiti East) and Osita Eze (Oji River).


They cited “existence of irreconcilable division, incessant crisis within the Labour Party at the national level and across all the state chapters”, as part of reasons for defection.

“Regrettably, the party has evolved into a state of perpetual discord, with various factions embroiled in legal battles, thereby undermining its ability to effectively serve the interest of the people.

“The Labour Party once a beacon of hope for progressive ideas has regrettably become synonymous with internal squabbles, thereby reducing its capacity to fulfil the aspirations of the electorate”, the added.

About the Author

Recent Posts
Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads

More like this

Borno Committed To Agricultural Development – Zulum

April 16, (THEWILL) - Borno State Governor, Babagana Umara...

Dortmund Reach UCL Semis After Beating Atlético Madrid

April 16, (THEWILL) - Borussia Dortmund have reached the...

PSG Overturn Deficit Against Barcelona To Reach UCL Semis

April 16, (THEWILL) - Paris Saint-Germain turned the tables...