NewsNigeria Prize For Literature: NLNG Shortlists 11 Entries

Nigeria Prize For Literature: NLNG Shortlists 11 Entries


July 10, (THEWILL) – The Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas has announced 11 shortlisted authors for the Poetry category of its prestigious Nigeria Prize for Literature. The announcement was made in the afternoon of Friday, July 8 from the gas company’s headquarters in Port Harcourt.

The prize is worth $100, 000.

The long list includes entries by poets, such as Ogaga Ifowodo, Chidi Amu Nadi, Obari Gomba, Iquo Diana Abasi and Remi Raji. Others are James Eze, Olusegun Adekoya, Romeo Oriogun, Su’eddie Agema, Joe Ushie and Sodiq Dzukoji.

The list was presented to the Advisory Board by the Chairman of the Judges panel for this year’s prize, Sule Emmanuel Egya, a professor of African Literature and Cultural Studies at Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai, Niger State.

Other judges are Toyin Adewale-Gabriel and Dike Chukwumerije. Adewale-Gabriel is a poet and fiction writer. Dike Chukwumerije is a spoken word and performance poet, as well as an award-winning author.

The judges described the long list as “the best of contemporary Nigerian poetry, rich in experimentation with language, style and theme.”

Accepting the recommended long list, the Advisory Board commended the thorough work done by the judges. Reacting on behalf of the Board, Professor Akachi Adimora- Ezeigbo, the chairman, said the quality of work in the list shows that “a lot of scrutiny and work went into selecting deserving poets who have distinguished themselves by the quality of their submissions.”

The 11 poets and their collections are as follows in alphabetical order: Augusta’s Poodle by Ogaga Ifowodo, Coming Undone As Stitches Tighten by Iquo DianaAbasi, Dispossessed by James Eze, Ife Testament by Olusegun Adekoya and Memory and the Call of Waters by S. Su’eddie Agema.

Others are Nomad by Romeo Oriogun, The Lilt of The Rebel by Obari Gomba, The Love Canticles by Chijioke Amu Nnadi, Wanderer Cantos by Remi Raji, Yawns and Belches by Joe Ushie and Your Crib, My Qibla by Saddiq Dzukogi

A winner or winners will be announced on October 9, 2022 coinciding with the very first time NLNG exported gas out of Nigeria.


More like this

Strike: Labour Adamant, Shuns Meeting With FG

September 30, (THEWILL) - Leaders of Nigeria Labour Congress...

N100bn CNG Bus Fund: ALBON Seeks Inclusion In Implementation

September 30, (THEWILL) - Long distance road transport owners...

Tinubu Returns To Abuja After Attending 78th Session Of UNGA In New York

September 30, (THEWILL) - President Bola Tinubu, on Friday...