Diego Costa will not face any action from the Football Association over his clash at Liverpool’s Martin Skrtel on Saturday, according to Sky sources.
The FA is satisfied that the matter was dealt with at the time by referee Mark Clattenburg, who was right on the spot when the incident happened during Chelsea’s 3-1 defeat to Liverpool at Stamford Bridge.
As a result, the FA believes there is no need for retrospective action.
However, former Chelsea forward Tony Cascarino believes Costa was lucky not to receive a red card.
“I think it’s the first decision that has gone for Chelsea so far this season as he could have easily been banned,” he told Sky Sports News HQ.
“Diego has probably been guilty of doing this way too often, but he has definitely caught Skrtel and Chelsea have got anyway with one. Diego is fortunate.
“There is intent and in the modern game that is a red card.”
In January 2015, Costa was handed a retrospective three-match ban by the FA after television replays picked up on him appearing to stamp on Skrtel’s foot while he was on the ground during a Capital One Cup semi-final.
The Blues striker was also handed a three-match suspension by the FA after being found guilty of violent conduct following his side’s 2-0 win over Arsenal in September.